I must have temporarily lost the plot, because I appear to have signed up for a marathon…

Under pressure

Originally, all this marathon talk started at work.

My friend/colleague, Gavin, told me that he would love to do a marathon before he turned 45. I said I wanted to do one before I was 25. So, in a light hearted manner, we decided to do the New York Marathon, which just so happened to be on his 45th birthday, this upcoming November ( I would already be 25 at this point, but it’s really irrelevant now).

Now of course, we were stupid naive, because, of course, it is near impossible to get into the New York Marathon, let alone raise the cash to fly there and get accomodation. So it all went down the pan a bit.

Until last month, when the Liverpool Marathon was annnounced. For me, this is local enough being from Manchester, and for Gav, a Liverpool footy fan, it was a great location.

So Gav finally signed up yesterday. Making it official. No bottling it. I’m going to have constant pressure to keep training. Plus, it gives us a bit of a personal challenge – who will finish first out of the two of us?

My bets are on him.

I’m going to try and get a 10k done this weekend. Try being the operative word.

Leave a Reply

