I must have temporarily lost the plot, because I appear to have signed up for a marathon…

Matter of heart

Last night’s gym efforts…

Distance covered (including warm up and cool down) :
5.06km (3.1 miles)

Time taken: 42 minutes
Average speed: 7.4 km an hour (4.5 mph)
Calories burned: 326

So last night I went to the gym. On a friday night.
I was really proud of myself for making the effort before going out with friends, and I loved the fact that I was pretty much the only person there. However, I feel like I’ve already hit a wall at the 5km mark, and when you consider than the marathon is approx 40km, I still have a very long way to go.

At one point my heart rate reached 200. I didn’t feel particularly bad, just like I needed to walk for a second.

According to this chart, this is a dangerous level.

Perhaps I need to try some alternative methods to increasing stamina rather than just pushing myself harder.

Comments on: "Matter of heart" (1)

  1. […] I posted that I was a little concerned about my heart rate – especially since I’m absolutely […]

Leave a Reply

